Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!
Face Paint Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to get a nice "opaque" finish ?

5 posters

Go down

How to get a nice "opaque" finish ? Empty How to get a nice "opaque" finish ?

Post by Orkimaru Sun Oct 18, 2015 3:52 pm

Hello !!

I'm still quite new in face painting and one of my great issues is that I would like to achieve neat results (on simple designs at least) like those

How to get a nice "opaque" finish ? A69a3711

but I generally end up with a watered down version, like this: The white is not opaque on top of other colors and I can see the "stroke" of my brush.

How to get a nice "opaque" finish ? Img_2012  (click to see my tired face bigger  Razz )

Can somebody explain to me what's up? is it a brush problem (my brush are cheap but quite decent I guess) or me using to much water or wrong movement?

I have to do a bunch of very quick (so, simple) design in a week or so (don't worry I'm not payed for this haha) and this is kinda ruining it. What do you think?
Orkimaru
Orkimaru

Number of posts : 22
Registration date : 2015-10-18

Back to top Go down

How to get a nice "opaque" finish ? Empty Re: How to get a nice "opaque" finish ?

Post by jlirie Sun Oct 18, 2015 5:09 pm

white over a dark color is always difficult.  try to let the background color dry a bit before doing the linework. p.s. if you look closely at the sample photo you posted that you want to emulate, you will still see the shadow of the colors under the white linework.