Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!
Face Paint Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help! What's the best way to land new jobs?

5 posters

Go down

Help!  What's the best way to land new jobs? Empty Help! What's the best way to land new jobs?

Post by FunnyFacesCC Fri Mar 23, 2012 3:10 pm

Hello, I'm fairly new to FP, but I'm picking things up quickly. I think FP is an untapped market in my city, and everywhere I go I see opportunities....I just don't know how to approach them to actually receive money. Oh sure, I volunteer at a local bookstore's children's story time to raise donations to buy books for kids without. I'm happy to do it, a good cause, practice on live canvas, and some publicity, but right now it doesn't pay me.

I know of a ton of churches with Easter Egg hunts, but how do I approach them and ask them to be payed? If a church is using an egg hunt as an outreach to the community they typically try to keep it free for those attending, don't think a PPF or even a tip jar would go over well, and I worry that they would rather have a couple of teens from the youth group slap some paint on some kids than pay for me. I definitely don't want to volunteer for 300 faces....

I also have read on the forum that some people have reoccurring gigs at restaurants to paint faces while families wait to be seated. Do restaurants seem willing? Do you have to obligate yourself to every Friday and Saturday night?

On the positive side, I did approach a locally owned Irish pub and was allowed to FP there on St. Patty's~ huge success!