Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!
Face Paint Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help with starting out

+4
martha
Psalmbook
helena
paintedxpressions
8 posters

Go down

Help with starting out Empty Help with starting out

Post by paintedxpressions Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:46 pm

Hello!! I have a question for anyone who can help me. I am just starting out and would like to know what kind of paints I can use to practice more. I don't want to spend a whole lot of money (unless I just have to) in the begining because I am not getting paid. Thank you so much for any and all help you guys give me.

paintedxpressions

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2011-04-22

Back to top Go down

Help with starting out Empty Re: Help with starting out

Post by helena Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:36 pm

Snazaroo is one of the cheaper face paints out there (at least that I'm aware of) that is still a good quality enough to practice and get a feeling of what 'real' face painting is like. In fact, I use snazaroo a lot for my 'actual' face painting too.

I've heard that some practice on paper or oil sheets/wax paper with watercolours too, tho' I haven't, so that might help? (Just be aware that painting on faces is very different in terms of texture and 'bumps' Smile )

I personally often draw out different designs on paper on simple basic faces I draw, just to see the placement of various items and if they'll work, or how to make the full face 'mask' work around eyes and mouth/nose.

It does cost money to practice with face paints, but it's a necessary part of getting better and receiving money for quality work done.

Good luck and welcome to the forum!