Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!
Face Paint Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Face Paint Safety

+3
Perry Noia
Noella
GreenPainter
7 posters

Go down

Face Paint Safety Empty Face Paint Safety

Post by GreenPainter Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:59 am

I am new to face painting and I have some concerns about hygiene, allergic reactions, and painting around the eyes and mouth. So far, I am just practicing and testing out the paint on my own face. The first face paint set I bought was from palmer and it made me break out in hives after doing a patch test (I have sensitive skin). Not to mention, it STAINED. So, I made sure to throw that one out. I am considering making my own face paint (the cold cream, cornstarch, and food coloring recipe). I liked the idea that I could use all organic products. Has anyone tried this? Does it make for good paint? I did buy some Halloween face paint at a party store that has been working great for me (Phantom Frights?). Has anyone ever heard of this? I was concerned mainly because it was cheap, so I thought it would be cheaply made. However, it goes on well and washes off very easily. I'm not sure if I will be using it on the kids, yet. I want to research more about the ingredients. I am looking into ordering a good solid face paint set online. I don't want to end up using some cheapy paint on a kid's face that could give them a reaction. Another concern of mine is the eye and mouth areas. The paint that I am using doesn't have a warning label. I used it around my own eyes and mouth without any problems, though. Also, any advice how to properly sanitize brushes and sponges between faces would be rea