Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!
Face Paint Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Overwhelmed

+3
JBax
Perry Noia
pjhamel
7 posters

Go down

Overwhelmed Empty Overwhelmed

Post by pjhamel Sat Mar 20, 2010 8:51 pm

So this is pretty much an actual conversation that I had about a week ago, that may or may not have been the best thing to happen in my life since my trip to Argentina a few years ago. I was speaking to the event chairwoman of my city's parks and recreation program when I mentioned that I was a face painter. She said that they had face painting at every event and that it was very popular, but when she said that the park staff did the painting, I went and opened my big mouth...
"What type of paints do they use?" I asked. Mind you, I was only making simple conversation. I had called her to see if my church youth group could set up a booth at an event, and we had somehow made our way to this topic.
The woman paused for a moment. "Oh, you know. Just regular paint."
"You mean like craft paint?" I blurted out, unable to hide my surprise.
"Yes, why?" She could tell that I didn't like this fact. "Is there something wrong with it?"
"Well craft paint isn't really supposed to be used on skin. It isn't very safe, and many people might have adverse reactions to it."
"Well what type of paint do you use?" She asked.
"I use cosmetic face paints made with FDA approved ingredients," I replied.
The voice on the other end was silent for a moment. "Hey, I have an idea," she finally said. "Why don't you do face painting for our events? You wouldn't have to pay to set up a booth, and you could charge for it and keep your profits."