Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Face Paint Forum
Register today to be part of the BEST face painting community on the planet. You just aren't cool if you aren't a member!
Face Paint Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Ugh.. can I vent for a second?!

+2
jlirie
ClemmieCakes
6 posters

Go down

Ugh.. can I vent for a second?! Empty Ugh.. can I vent for a second?!

Post by ClemmieCakes Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:46 pm

I am pretty new to face painting though I hold a degree in painting from a state university. I started about 3 years ago as a volunteer and enjoyed it so much I have continued to learn and add some paying gigs.

This weekend I offered to volunteer for a street fair for exposure/practice. It sounded great - High traffic, they provide the supplies and design boards, painters in 2 shifts of 4 people each over the course of the 10 hour event. Lunch would be provided too. All we had to do was show up, paint, and go home.

The event is tomorrow and I found out that instead of 8 painters we have 2 and I am the only one with experience. They "might" have some high school girls to paint faces but have also asked everyone to come in the morning so at this point there is no afternoon "shift" and no scheduled break for the 10 hours. Design boards were poster boards with DOZENS of photos ripped from the internet (50+ choices) with the biggest photo being about business card size. The paint they bought was cheap wax crayons that said they'd do 65 faces total, plus Snaz red, yellow, blue and black. No brushes. Glass craft glitter instead of cosmetic glitter (I told her I WILL NOT use that on faces.) No sponges. No towels. I have been trying to help them compile a list of materials but they look at it and then don't buy anything on it.